Second round of Heritage Crafts Awards 2024 open


Second round of Heritage Crafts Awards 2024 open

Deadline: 7 June 2024, 5pm

The second round of the Heritage Crafts Awards in 2024 are now open for nominations, with 12 award categories up for grabs. The Awards, which have been running since 2012, celebrate and highlight the traditional living crafts that contribute to British heritage. 

Five of the awards celebrate heritage craftspeople who have made an outstanding contribution to working with a particular material or skill over the past year. They recognise a contribution that is far beyond the ordinary, based on a proven dedication to their craft of precious metalworking, woodworking, fashion textiles, leatherworking or pottery. Each of these awards is accompanied by a prize of £2,000.

Seven other awards celebrate young heritage craftspeople aged 25 or under who have made an outstanding start to their craft careers. The award winners will be highly skilled amongst their peers, whilst raising the perceived value of their craft through sharing and awareness raising. They will have given themselves a fantastic chance of achieving long-term success, perhaps overcoming disadvantage or setbacks along the way. These awards will be presented for woodworking, metalworking, leatherworking, building crafts, upholstery, weaving and embroidery and will be accompanied by a prize of £1,000.

List of awards open until 6 September 2024:

Anyone, including the makers themselves, can nominate for this award. The deadline for applications is 5pm on Friday 6 September 2024 and you can find out more about each award, via the button below. The award winners will be announced at a high-profile Winners’ Reception in November 2024.

See awards and nominate

This follows a first round of awards which closed on 12 June, including the President’s Award for Endangered Crafts, Environmental Sustainability Award, Maker of the Year for England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales, Trainer of the Year, Trainee of the Year, Community Catalyst of the Year, and the Lifetime Achievement Award.